Low-Level Radioactive Waste Management Unit (LLRWMU)

Radioactive waste is generated from nuclear fuel cycle,  reprocessing of nuclear weapons, industrial and medical applications and radioisotop production and usage in research centers. Moroever, there are radionuclides which are naturally found in earth and athmosphere, called NORM (naturally occuring radioactive material). Mining, oil extraction facilities, generation of energy, water refinement facilities etc are sources of  technologically enhnced naturally occuring radioactive metarial (TENORM).

Waste originating from industrial and medical applications is accepted, classified, processed, stored and documented in LLRWMU.

RWMD’s  routine works are as follows;

  • Research based on improving radioactive waste processing technology
  • Devices containing radioactive sources like Cs-137, Co-60, Sr-90, Kr-85, Am-241, Ra-226, Se-75, Pm-147, Cf-252 of low activity are processed in order to reduce volume of the waste. Radionuclides of the same kind are collected and shielded together within a drum, labeled and stored.



  • Technesium generators are also processed in LLRWMU. Contaminated pieces are seperated and stored, other meterials like metals and plastic are recycled.


  • Lightning rods containing Am-241 and Ra-226 of low activity are procesed by collecting the same kind radionuclides in one shield. Metal parts of the rods are recycled after decontamination process.



  • Smoke dedectors containing low activity of Am-241 are also processed and stored in LLRWMU.



  • Radionuclides of the same kind which are taken from lightning rods and smoke detectors are shielded together and put into a drum, labeled and stored.


  • Compressible solid radioactive wastes is proccessed by pressing within a compactor.



  • Periodically, contamination controlling releated with radiation  protection, dekontaminating, monitoring, environmental measuring and recording.
  • Low Level Liquid Radioactive Wastes are proccessed in Liquid Waste Proccessing facility in various  methods for example chemical precipitation, ion Exchange resins. After beeing classified the liquid waste is transferred to a holding tank. Determining proper pH and precipitator for his waste is precipitated chemically. The precipitate is taken into a drum and mixed with cement. Then the drum is labelled, recorded transferred to the storage.




  • Scrap metals are put into containers, and stored in the waste site.
  • Compactible solid waste is coppressed within a drum after checking for any metal by a magnetic detector. Then the drum is labelled, recorded transferred to the relevant storage.
  • As a public service, sources and devices which are still in usage can be stored temporarily by LLRWMU. The device to be stored temporarily and its related document are checked, recorded and then stored in the related storage.